Rough Proposal

I think that my idea for the Final Project may be somewhat too ambitious and challenging to pull off. But I want to try to go for it anyways! My proposal will consist of a speech, from the point of view of “The Main Character” in many movies. The speech I will write will highlight many of the cliches and similarities between all great movie protagonists and document their Hero’s Journey. The challenging part of this is, I want each word of the speech to be said by the main character in the film in a fast super cut of main character dialogue. Obviously, this will require a lot of research and film watching, carefully pulling out key words and phrases said by dozens of different characters. Hopefully, if this can be pulled off successfully, it will sound like a fluid speech and will look really cool! The video essay will use only short clips from movies and possibly, the words written somewhere on the screen. My backup plan if this doesn’t work or is too difficult to accomplish, is to just do a voice over about the same topic, but I don’t think that will be as original or creative.

Leave a comment